other side of the wall

other side of the wall

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Living in the Residue

June 11, 2014 , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Image

Nicholas U. June 5, 2006-April 11, 2014

I don’t know how good this poem is or isn’t. I have to be honest and I say I haven’t even tried to revise it so forgive me if its bumpy. My son died on April 11, 2014 and this is the first thing I was able to write after my world went dark. I have so much to say and no words with which to say it. I don’t know if those words exist. Maybe its just sounds with which I could express this sense of loss. It’s a strange mix of loss and gratitude. Gratitude for having known him or having had the opportunity to learn from him and be loved by him.

Living in the Residue

There is nothing where you used to be.
Open spaces.
Intolerable moments of silence.
They pass through gently
like ribbons
at the end of a dancers hand.
We move through the residue
of everything you left behind.
The light.
The dark.
The wind carries us
slowly;
with no purpose;
longing for you to be in this space
the place you used be
knowing we must go on
without you
because you showed us how to
and its all we have
to offer to you in return
for the living, laughter,
and love you gave us.

by Leenadria

Rest my sweet angel. You will be forever loved and forever missed. I will continue to carry forward your legacy as promised. “The woods are lovely, dark and deep. But I have promises to keep. And miles to go before I sleep. And miles to go before I sleep.”-Robert Frost. These words live inside of me now. 

 

 

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

beautiful words

Kirsten Sireci Renner

June 11, 2014

I to just lost my son (5/6/14). Rich was much older. He knew that he was dying.. when he passed away, he looked so much at peace. The last thing he did was grab my hand & said ” I love you!”

Dorothy Norgren

June 11, 2014

That’s so beautiful. I wish my Nic had woken up to say goodbye but then I probably wouldn’t have let him go so he knew what he was doing.

leenadria

June 18, 2014

I am so sorry on the loss of your beautiful Nicholas. Lovely words, may he dance with the Angels.
Thank you for the follow.

ramblingsfromamum

June 18, 2014

Thank you. A great loss indeed. Loving your blog.

leenadria

June 18, 2014

You are welcome. That’s very kind of you and thank you so much.

ramblingsfromamum

June 18, 2014

Bless your heart and strength for writing this tribute poem to your Dear Son. My heart aches for you. May memories keep casting light and erase your hearts pain…warm love, Heather

Swiss-Ami-Mom

June 18, 2014

