other side of the wall

other side of the wall

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Exultation

April 4, 2014 , , , , , , , , , ,

 “Mama exhorted her children at every opportunity to ‘jump at de sun.’ We might not land on the sun, but at least we would get off the ground.” -Zora Neale Hurston, Dust Tracks on a Road, 1942

They said come to America.

Take opportunity and grow.

Take opportunity to prosper.

Mummy said I’ll go,

and like lava soaked diamond

the world will crack me

open. I’ll be worth something

more than I could be

in oil stained soils

dripping red from greed.

Flee from this achromatic calling

a woman must heed

and give birth to in the dust.

No, “Go! Go! Go”,

she cries. “You must!”

I pack her unborn dreams,

the seeds she never planted

and crossed an ocean

to have my wishes granted.

Mummy, I have arrived.

This place is not easy.

Much work to do

Before I can shine.

Mummy, “Ese gan.”

Mummy, Thank you.

This is no easy sacrifice.

“Mon ‘ife e”- I love you.

© 2014 Leenadria

 

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.